Comparison Guides
Pro 1 Pico vs Candela PicoWay
Both are 1064 nm picosecond platforms. The Pro 1 Pico leads on single-pulse peak power — ~1.6 GW (800 mJ ÷ 500 ps) vs the PicoWay's ~0.90 GW — and adds long-pulse 1064 nm vascular and hair-reduction modes the PicoWay does not have.
Side-by-side specifications
| Specification | Pro 1 Pico | Candela PicoWay |
|---|---|---|
| Peak power (calculated) | ~1.6 GW single-pulse (800 mJ ÷ 500 ps) | ~0.90 GW (1064 nm, 400 mJ ÷ 450 ps) |
| Wavelengths | 1064 / 532 nm (+ optional 595/660 nm) | 532 / 730 / 785 / 1064 nm (four native) |
| Pulse width | 500 ps | 450 ps (1064 nm) |
| Max pulse energy | Up to 1600 mJ (double-pulse) | 400 mJ (1064 nm) |
| Long-pulse / vascular / hair-reduction mode | Yes — long-pulse 1064 nm | No (picosecond only) |
| Skin-type suitability | All Fitzpatrick types (I–VI) | Picosecond pigment/tattoo platform |
| Regulatory | Health Canada licensed (MDL 114765), FDA cleared | FDA cleared (Health Canada status not stated) |
| Condition | New — full warranty, training, support | New or used (see notes below) |
Candela PicoWay specifications per the manufacturer/retailer listing (source); items not published there are shown as “Not specified.”
Key differences
- Higher single-pulse peak power: ~1.6 GW (800 mJ ÷ 500 ps) vs ~0.90 GW — plus up to 1600 mJ cumulative PTP dual-pulse energy.
- The Pro 1 Pico adds long-pulse 1064 nm vascular and hair-reduction modes — the PicoWay is picosecond-only.
- The PicoWay's strength is breadth: four native picosecond wavelengths (532/730/785/1064 nm); the Pro 1 Pico uses 1064/532 with optional 595/660 nm handpieces.
- A new Pro 1 Pico includes warranty, training, and support; a used picosecond laser can carry recertification, parts, and service considerations.
Peak power, honestly
On calculated single-pulse peak power, the Pro 1 Pico leads: 800 mJ in a single 500 ps pulse calculates to ~1.6 GW, versus the PicoWay®‘s ~0.90 GW (400 mJ ÷ 450 ps). The Pro 1 Pico’s PTP dual-pulse mode adds further energy headroom — up to 1600 mJ of cumulative energy across two closely spaced picosecond pulses, rather than one larger pulse.
Wavelengths
This is where the PicoWay is strong: it offers four native picosecond wavelengths (532/730/785/1064 nm). The Pro 1 Pico uses 1064 and 532 nm with optional 595/660 nm pigment handpieces. If maximum native wavelength breadth is the priority, the PicoWay leads on that axis.
Versatility the PicoWay does not have
Both are picosecond pigment/tattoo platforms, but only the Pro 1 Pico adds a dedicated long-pulse 1064 nm mode for vascular protocols and hair-reduction — extending one platform across more of a clinic’s menu.
New vs used: what you’re really buying
A used picosecond laser can carry recertification, proprietary consumable/handpiece access, software and field-service, and out-of-warranty repair considerations. A new Pro 1 Pico includes a manufacturer warranty, training, and ongoing support.
Competitor specifications are taken from Candela’s published materials for a new device; used units may differ. This is a factual specification comparison, not a clinical-outcome claim.
Summary
The Pro 1 Pico and PicoWay are closely matched picosecond pigment/tattoo platforms. On calculated single-pulse peak power the Pro 1 Pico leads (~1.6 GW vs ~0.90 GW), and it adds up to 1600 mJ of cumulative PTP dual-pulse energy plus dedicated long-pulse 1064 nm vascular and hair-reduction modes the PicoWay does not offer, with new-device warranty and training. The PicoWay's strength is its four native picosecond wavelengths.
Related devices
FAQs
Is the Pro 1 Pico more powerful than the PicoWay?
On calculated single-pulse peak power, yes — about ~1.6 GW for the Pro 1 Pico (800 mJ ÷ 500 ps) versus ~0.90 GW for the PicoWay's 1064 nm (400 mJ ÷ 450 ps), plus up to 1600 mJ of cumulative PTP dual-pulse energy.
Does the PicoWay have a vascular or hair-removal mode?
No — the PicoWay is a picosecond pigment/tattoo platform. The Pro 1 Pico adds a long-pulse 1064 nm mode used for vascular protocols and hair-reduction.
Which platform has more wavelengths?
The PicoWay has four native picosecond wavelengths (532/730/785/1064 nm). The Pro 1 Pico uses 1064 and 532 nm, with optional 595/660 nm pigment handpieces. The PicoWay's wavelength breadth is its main strength.
What is the pulse-width difference?
The Pro 1 Pico runs at 500 ps and the PicoWay's 1064 nm at 450 ps — both in the picosecond domain. The Pro 1 Pico pairs 500 ps with higher energy headroom (up to 1600 mJ double-pulse).
Which is better for darker skin tones?
Both offer a 1064 nm wavelength suited to deeper, lower-melanin-absorption treatment. The Pro 1 Pico is rated across Fitzpatrick I–VI with appropriate parameters.
Should I buy a used PicoWay?
A used picosecond laser can look cheaper upfront, but consider recertification, proprietary consumable/handpiece access, software and field service, and out-of-warranty repair exposure. A new Pro 1 Pico includes warranty, training, and support with no recertification fees.
Is the Pro 1 Pico licensed in Canada?
Yes — the Pro 1 Pico is licensed by Health Canada under Medical Device Licence 114765 and is FDA cleared. Confirm the PicoWay's current Health Canada status with its manufacturer.
What does the Pro 1 Pico add beyond tattoo and pigment?
Its long-pulse 1064 nm mode supports vascular and hair-reduction protocols, so one platform covers more of a clinic's service menu than a picosecond-only system.
Explore the technology
Product names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Laser Equipment Global is not affiliated with, or endorsed by, Candela PicoWay. This comparison is provided for identification and evaluation purposes only.